Client Stories

Our client stories are provided by our clients not to promote Cornerstone or themselves but are intended to be an encouragement and a source of hope to anyone struggling through difficult circumstances.


Throughout my lifetime I have endured a lot of abuse.  I grew up knowing that I was different than my siblings, not knowing or understanding how, just knowing how I was.  During my schooling I struggled a  lot. I was bullied, picked on and harassed by other children in my special needs class. This is where my  struggle with my self-esteem began.

I was diagnosed schizophrenic about nine years ago, but that wasn't the start of my troubles.  My mind went awhile before I was diagnosed.  Bouncing from job to job, shop lifting, and a general frightening demeanor that had garnered comment from my parents.

So Cornerstone turned me around, and lent a hand in troubled times, giving me time to get used to my new disease.  It took another four or five years before I was happy again, within myself.  Now, I'm working part time, and have developed a couple hobbies.  My greatest dream is to write a novel or two, but we'll just have to see about that.

It's been a slow climb back to self confidence and living for the moment, but I've accomplished just that.  I try to enjoy everyday as another day on the right side of the grass.  That mindset and the medication  have really helped my attitude.

My goals at this point are to start a resistance training regime, start doing yoga, and developing a healthier diet plan geared towards weight control.  I was also thinking of starting a year long program in Krav Maga, a type of self defence class.

Comparing how I felt then and how I feel now is like night and day.  I can actually concentrate long enough to hold a job, whereas before,  I was constantly badgered by thoughts.  I am not afraid of other people anymore, and I don't hear voices or see things, due to a strict adherence to my medication.  I am still collecting ODSP and work eight hours a week.

I realized three years ago and more that his disability will require some real changes in my life, and I hope I have the strength, focus and the friends to pull it off.

I was born in Deer Lake Newfoundland in 1961. At the time I was the 4th child born to my mother and father. I moved to Toronto when I was about 11 months old with just my dad after my parents separated.

I was born in Port Aux-Basques, Newfoundland in 1954. I was born right in the middle of 12 siblings. I started working at 16 at CN Marine on the ships sailing all over the East Coast of Canada. I worked for 9 years, and on June 3rd, 1978 my ship sank off the coast of Labrador. I watched the ship sink from the side of an iceberg.